Shri Gurudeva Ranade Award

As a humble token of their deep gratitude to Gurudeva Ranade, Shrimati Kusum Lal and Professor B.B. Lal have donated a sum of Rs.  4,50,000.00 (Rs. Four Lakhs Fifty Thousands only) to the Indian Archaeological Society for instituting the “Gurudeva Ranade Award”. The interest accruing from the amount will be utilized to give the award, once in five years.

Year Name of Awardee Name of the book   Place


Prof. Dilip K. Chakrabarti      

The Archaeological Foundation of India 

New Delhi


Prof. Purushottam Singh       

Archaeology of Ganga Plain

New Delhi


Dr. Sudha Satyawadi

The Timeless Art of Ajanta

New Delhi

The award is due for the period January, 2017 – December, 2021 and is opened to scholars anywhere in the world for the best book on Indian Archaeology published during the above period.

Dr. V.S. Wakankar Award

The Madhya Pradesh University Grant Commission vide their letter No. 2081/C, dated 25.12.1991 sanctioned a sum of Rs. 15,00,000/- (Rupees Fifteen Lakhs only) to the Indian Archaeological Society, New Delhi for using the amount as  ‘Corpus Money’ for the Award in the memory of well known Field Archaeologist from Madhya Pradesh, Late Padmashree Dr. V.S. Wakankar. Out of the interest of this “Corpus” The Indian Archaeological Society has instituted the Wakankar Award of Rs. 21,000/- (Twenty-one Thousands only) every alternative year to honour an outstanding field archaeologist.

The following is the order of Awards given so far to various scholars. The award is given at the time of the Annual Conference of the Society.

Year Name of Awardee Place


Prof. B.B. Lal



Prof. B.P. Sinha

New Delhi


Dr. Y.D. Sharma

New Delhi


Dr. K.M. Srivastava



Shri M.N. Deshpande

New Delhi


Prof. K.V. Raman



Prof. V.N. Misra



Shri R.C. Agrawala

New Delhi


Prof. V.D. Misra

New Delhi


Prof. V.H. Sonawane

New Delhi

2012 & 14




Prof. Vibha Tripathi


A.K. Narain Award

The A.K. Narain Award for the study of Cultures and Civilisations other than India was instituted by an endowment of Rs. 50,000/- (Rupees Fifty Thousands only) made by Mrs. Usha Narain. The award is aimed for the best (as judged by the award committee) published work or unpublished Doctoral Thesis (by any scholar not older than 40 years) on any subject pertaining to Archaeology, Prehistory and Quaternary Studies and History and Culture of Countries other than India. However, as per clause eleven of the agreement, in absence of any outstanding work on ‘ Countries other than India’, any such work dealing with relations of India and other countries in context to the three above mentioned subjects, will be awarded the ‘A.K. Narain award’ if found eligible by the Award Committee. Till date there have been two recipients of this award.

Year Name of Awardee Title of the book Place


Dr. M.A. Nayeem

Rock Art of Arabia

New Delhi


Dr. Bachchan Kumar

Glimpses of Early Indo-Indonesian Culture

New Delhi

The award is due and scholars are requested to send their publication as per the terms and condition mentioned above.

Dr. S.P. Gupta Memorial Gold Medal

Under the specific Provision of his WILL, the Indian Archaeological Society has instituted two Dr. S.P. Gupta Memorial Gold Medals. One Gold Medal shall be given to the student who tops the final year examination of the course called Postgraduate Diploma in Archaeology from the Institute of Archaeology, Archaeological Survey of India, The second Gold medal shall be given to the student who tops the list of successful candidate appearing the final year examination of M.A. in ‘History of Art’ of the National Museum Institute, New Delhi.

Namita Joshi Memorial Gold Medal

Dr. Asha Joshi has donated a sum of Rs. 1,25,000/- (Rupees One lakh twenty five thousand only) to the Indian Archaeological Society for  instituting of an award of a gold medal in the name of her deceased daughter Namita Joshi.

The scholars interested for this award should not be more than the age of 40 years on 1st January of the next year and will kindly furnish proof of their age. Namita Joshi Memorial Gold Medal award will be given every year for the best paper presented in the Joint Annual Conference/or subsequent All India Symposium.

Year Name of Awardee Place


Ms. Amita Gupta



Mr. Tiatemjen Tzudir

Itanagar (April 2017)


Mr. Andre Baptista



Dr. Goutami Bhattacharya

Patna (February 2019)

Office Address:

The Indian Archaeological Society
B-17, Qutab Institutional Area
New Delhi – 110016, India

Phone: +91-011-26523728, 26852695
Fax: +91-011-26960654

Number of
Total Visitors

free counter

Visitors in Current Month

Copyright © 2019 The Indian Archaeological Society, All Rights Reserved.